The President of Wesleyan University-Philippines (WUP), retired Judge Benjamin D. Turgano, and the President of the University of Cagayan Valley (UCV), Dr. Esther Susan N. Perez-Mari, have entered into a Memorandum of Understanding on February 7, 2023, at Bonifacio Global City, Taguig.

Both higher education institutions agreed to collaborate in the tri-focal functions of instruction, research, and extension and in such other fields of common interest as may be mutually agreed upon. They concurred to promote, cooperate, and develop programs and activities of mutual interest, among others, in research and publication, lectures and symposia, exchange of faculty, lecturers, researchers, support staff and students, exchange of academic information and materials and in extension, community immersion and advocacies.

WUP and UCV share a common heritage of having been established by visionaries in the field of Wesleyan education by considering the conditions of local communities in the Philippines following World War II. Formerly known as Philippine Wesleyan College, WUP was established in 1946. UCV was originally named as Cagayan Teachers College and later as Cagayan Colleges Tuguegarao. It was founded in 1948. UCV is in Tuguegarao City, Cagayan.