The Wesleyan University-Philippines College of Law Debate Team, comprised of Benjamin Earl V. Hernal, Rince Lyn Hicban, Mark Jay Gedo Cruz, and Mary Cloie Clemente, advances to the Quarter Finals of the 1st Justice Hilarion L. Aquino National Memorial Debate Competition, sponsored by the Legal Education Board and the Commission on Elections.

The WU-P team defeated Tarlac Stare University and Ateneo de Davao University. Benjamin Earl V. Hernal was given the Best Debater and Best Speaker awards in the first two rounds of the competition.